About the museum
Mykola Ivanovych Pyrohov (1810-1881), the prominent scientist, surgeon, educator and public personality spent the last years of his life in a charming spot of Vishnya (the Cherry-tree) near Vinnytsia (it is an urban district of the town now).
In 1866 he built a house, a pharmacy and a small hospital, where he rendered medical assistance to inhabitants.
On 9 September 1947 here the Pyrohov's Estate Museum was opened.
The museum comprises a house, a pharmacy, and the family vault, where the embalmed body of Pyrohov lies.
A splendid park covers an area of 16 hectares of the estate. There are many trees planted by Pyrohov himself there.
The museum's exposition occupies 10 halls of the main building, the Gallery and six rooms of a private pharmacy. There are some 16500 exhibits in the museum.
More than 1500 of them are on display These are manuscripts, photographs, private belongings, surgical instruments, paintings, sculptures, printed works, etc.
In the library there are 7000 books and magazines, including a large number of Pyrohov's works, the majority of which are rarities about his scientific life and activity. The literature concerns the history of medicine.
The museum enjoys great popularity not only in our country but also abroad. The number of visitors, including foreign visitors, has already exceeded six million.
On one of the walls a marble plaque reads: «Mykola Pyrohov lived here from 1866 to 1881». The surgeon's bust by the sculptor Krestovsky is erected in one of the allies of the park.
The exhibits of the museum depict chronologically the scientist's life and activity.